A Few Writers Who Changed My World

The specific names on this list touched my life in very meaningful ways. They may appear so different from each other, that it might be difficult to see what they have in common.

Here’s why they truly mattered to me:

These authors and their stories inspired me. They encouraged me with their bravery, their sense of right and wrong, their sense of duty and responsibility, and their sense of freedom and equality.

Many of these stories encompassed deep, deep anguish, yet the characters refused to bow down to pain, or to repay it with wrongdoing. They Rose Up over injustice and brutality. Within themselves, they held high standards of power no evil could touch.

These are the authors who led me to believe that honor and good character are far more important than money and fame. Hard work and truth are necessary to live a life of peace.

They led me to believe in goodness, creativity, inventiveness, and that superheroes come in every gender, color, nationality, and religion.

My favorite writers infused me with hope. Hope is what makes us survivors and victors, instead of victims. Studies in the military, studies in universities, studies in newspapers, studies in hospitals, all say it helps to have hope. Hope means there’s a goal and a plan and a belief. It is a skill we can learn. It is a foundation that supports our move onward and upward. Hope is a force multiplier for me.

With these authors, I’ve looked at my own life, my own heart, and my own character. I’ve looked at my neighborhood, my country, and my planet. I’ve wondered what can I do to make things better?

Through these authors I have looked at the sky and pondered, what other goodness is possible?

Of course, this is not a complete list, I’ll probably come back later – and debate with myself, should I update this list or start a brand new one? But for simplicity’s sake, here’s a few names I pulled, some from memory, and some from the nearest book piles.

  1. Sequoyah – Legendary Creator of the Cherokee Syllabary – may be the only person in history to invent a written language without being literate in any language.
  2. Tecumseh – The Teaching of Tecumseh
  3. Corrie ten Boom
  4. Anne Frank
  5. Marcus Aurelius
  6. Anna Sewell
  7. Laura Ingalls
  8. Mildred Augustine Wirt Benson/Carolyn Keene
  9. Harper Lee
  10. John Steinbeck
  11. Toni Morrison
  12. Maya Angelou
  13. Jane Austen
  14. Ernest Hemingway
  15. Dave Pelzer
  16. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  17. Virginia Woolf
  18. C. S. Lewis
  19. Henry David Thoreau
  20. Ayn Rand
  21. Ralph Waldo Emerson
  22. Rachel Carson
  23. Jules Verne
  24. Shel Silverstein
  25. J. D. Salinger
  26. Voltaire
  27. Anna Quindlen
  28. Neil deGrasse Tyson
  29. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  30. Stan Lee

3 thoughts on “A Few Writers Who Changed My World

    1. Thanks, these are some of the writers that had a powerful influence on me. It felt appropriate to pay them tribute. There’s so many more that deserve praise. I’m fortunate to have access to many libraries and books. 🙂 📖

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment