Plane Droppings

I read this in a book today, standing in a store. I bought this book as a gift if I can pry it out of my fingers to give it.

The Gentlest Reminders Dropped From Passing Planes

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

“You were not put here to impress others, to be better than others or to beat others at all costs.

You were not put here to compare yourself to others and your success is not dependent on someone else’s failure.

You were not put here to put others in their place, to teach them a lesson or lecture them about who they are. You can and should help others but don’t treat others like they’re broken just because they’re not who you think they should be – You were not put here to fix others.

You were not put here to rise above others. You are unique but not special and that’s not a bad thing because it means all of us can achieve some kind of greatness.

You were not put here to be against others.

You were put here with others.”

 

This seemed as if it was directed at me, considering my last post. (heavy sigh)

I have no desire to impress others. If it were important to me to impress others, I’d follow all the crowds to all the places wearing all the names they wear and settle for a life that’s ‘fine’ instead of reaching for my best. I’d spend all my time hung-over reading status updates instead of books and poems and good news. I don’t write for the masses, I write only to find my kindred, those very few of us born alike in thought and heart. I’ve been preaching equality and that no one is better than any other for as long as I’ve been able to preach. I rarely compare myself to another, I’m usually in competition only with myself and who I used to be. And I know that success and failure are so personally defined, they cannot depend on another’s success or failure.

However.

I have always been sure it is my job to teach people what I’ve learned and to lecture them about things they obviously don’t know. I don’t want to ‘put them in their place’ but I do want to pull them out of the places they say they don’t want to be in. I have always assumed we all are broken. I assumed that was the way of life, breaking and fixing, tearing and mending, reaping and sowing. Doesn’t everyone break and need repair or is it just me? If I was not put here to help fix others, then why do they ask me to fix them? Why do they call me, freaking out, crying, and broken-hearted? And why do they run me ragged with their requests to repair the damage, to make a new plan to get out of this mess? So, that passage sticks with me, sticks in my craw, it makes me want to explain myself. I’m here to help you become who you are, not who others want you to be. I am here beside you, in the foxhole, trying to figure out what you want and help you get there. I want you to be who you are. I don’t want you to keep burying yourself under more and more hurt. I’m trying to help dig you out. Am I doing it wrong? I don’t know how to let you wallow in places you say you don’t want to be. I keep thinking if you knew how much I loved you, none of you would do this to yourselves.

I do not wish to rise above others. My wish is to help us all rise. I know that we are all unique and special and all capable of greatness.

I have never been against others, only against bad choices that ruin lives and homes and worlds and children.

I am put here with others, for others, for us all to become who we are. I want us to link arms, hold hands, protect each other’s backs, and lift each other up. I cannot put my head in the sand and let us all be who we are not.

We are NOT medication fueled rage. We are not bizarre contemptible hatred.

We ALL are human beings capable of dazzling brilliance and never-ending love. We ALL make mistakes and need each other to help us find our way. None of us will make it out of here alive. But we can at least help each other make this THE MOST AWESOME RIDE we’ve ever been on!

Leave a comment